Activity

Design thinking – Technology for elderly people

This activity will provide EELISA students with principles and applied concepts of Design Thinking. Students will have the opportunity to put these concepts into practice by proposing ideas to help elder people face the challenges of ...

This activity will provide EELISA students with principles and applied concepts of Design Thinking. Students will have the opportunity to put these concepts into practice by proposing ideas to help elder people face the challenges of today's society.

It is aimed at:
• Studying "Design" as a tool for social and economic development.
• Approaching the definition of a product with a methodological approach in Design Thinking.
• Involving students in innovative ideas, applying the Design Thinking to face the challenge of achieving greater integration of the elderly in society.
• Highlighting the value of our elders in the communities.

The activity consists of two parts. On the first day, students will attend several workshops on Design Thinking and Social Innovation. On a second day, the concepts studied will be applied to the topic of “Elderly people”. Initially, three different topics facing the problem of “Technology for Elderly” will be presented to student: Home for elderly; Digital divide; Elderly pedestrian. Then, students will participate in a hackathon working in teams made up of students from different universities and countries to deal with a challenge.

PROGRAM
Day 1 (16 Mar):
• Workshop on Design Thinking Principles
• Workshop on Social Innovation with Design Thinking
• Workshop on Service-learning and community engagement through Design Thinking
Day 2 (17 Mar):
• Presentation of Topic 1: Home for elderly
• Presentation of Topic 2: Digital Literacy for Elderly
• Presentation of Topic 3: Elderly pedestrian
• Presentation of the Challenge for the Hackathon
• Hackathon: Work in teams of three people, made up of students from different universities guided by mentors from the three communities

Support for travel and accomodation might be offered by EELISA institution, applicants for this activity can contact their local EELISA coordinator to ask for support options:

InstitutionContact person(s) and positionEmail address
BME Sára Tóvölgyi /  
Kata Kapusy / Sándor Kiss 
tovolgyi.sarolta@gtk.bme.hu 
kapusy.kata@gtk.bme.hu
ksandor@math.bme.hu 
ENPC Marie Christine Bert marie-christine.bert@enpc.fr 
FAU Eike Trost eeelisa@fau.de  
ITÜ Emrah Acar accarem@gmail.com  
PSL Camille Roger camille.roger@psl.eu  
PSL-Chimie Antoine Mercier antoine.mercier@chimieparistech.psl.eu  
PSL-Mines Alma Catala Luna alma.catala@minesparis.psl.eu  
SNS Nicola Tasinato  nicola.tasinato@sns.it  
eelisa@sns.it  
SSSA Claudia Ambrogi Claudia.Ambrogi@santannapisa.it
Elisa.Zanobini@santannapisa.it  
UPB Mariana Munteanu mariana.munteanu@upb.ro  
UPM María Luisa Martínez Muneta luisa.mtzmuneta@upm.es  

Participation requirements

Undergraduate and Master's degree students from any of the universities belonging to the EELISA alliance.

Max. participants: 30

Open for application
Workshop
In person
Schedule
16 Mar - 17 Mar 2023
Final dates
Location
Universitatea Politehnica din București (UPB)
Language
English
Organiser